



# SBMHA Board Annual General Meeting Minutes

June 15, 2023

Date	Called To Order (Time) Called By
June 15, 2023	8:02PM Travis Hoemsen

Present	
Position	Name Present
President	Travis Hoemsen Yes
Vice President	Kirk McCuspey Regrets
Secretary	Matt Gagne Yes
Treasurer	Harsan Sandhu Yes
Past President	Shaun Chornley Regrets
Registrar/HCR Administrator	Carol Matthews Regrets
Ice Convener	Sylvain Foidart Yes
Referee In Chief	Ryan Sutherland Yes
Direct Entry Chair (11-18)	Ben Akoh Yes
A Chair (11-13)	vacant
A Chair (8-10)	Sylvain Fodairt Yes
House League (7&8) House League (Timbits) IP Convener Referee Assignor Member At Large Member At Large	Thomas Joe <u>Regrets</u> <u>Matt Gagne Yes</u> <u>vacant</u> <u>Joyce Webinger Regrets</u> <u>Ryan Galley Regrets</u> Trevor Bodz Yes
Member At Large	Michal Jarzyna Regrets
IT Coordinator	vacant

Timekeeper Assignor AA Council Representative Female Chair Equipment Chair	Joyce Webinger Regrets Ryan Younghusband Regrets Dan Sarahs Regrets Sarah Bordier-Kaye Yes
HCR Administrator	Dustin Rogers Yes
CC Rep Primary – Archwood	Kathy O'Flaherty Yes
CC Rep Primary – Champlain	Rob Wozny Regrets
CC Rep Primary – Norwood	Mike Clark Regrets
CC Rep Primary – Southdale	Ryan Younghusband Regrets
CC Rep Additional – Southdale	Kara Buchanan Yes

Page 1 of 5





# SBMHA Board Annual General Meeting Minutes

June 15, 2023

CC Rep Additional – Southdale	Bev Flockton Regrets
CC Rep Additional – Southdale	vacant
CC Rep Primary – Winakwa	Vacant
CC Rep Primary – Notre Dame	Michel Fournier Regrets
Coach Liason & Player Dev.	Kirk McCuspey Regrets

Non Board Members present: Martin Larose, Ryan Anderson, Mike Ames, Camille Forbes, Lana Chymyshyn, Edward Constant, Colin Malmstrom, Jordan Dunville, Laura Robson, Ben Thompson

Approval of Agenda	
Motion:	Kathy O'Flaherty
Second:	Ben Akoh
Vote:	Passed

Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes	
Motion:	Trevor Bodz
Second:	Ben Akoh
Vote:	Passed

## President's Report

### **Luc Huberdeau Memorial Award**

- On February 21, 2021 the SBMHA sadly lost one of our players. After a lengthy battle with Cancer 10 year old LUC HUBERDEAU sadly lost this battle. Luc loved hockey and loved being a Seal. At the April 18, 2021 SBMHA Board Meeting, a motion was made to create the LUC HUBERDEAU MEMORIAL AWARD. The motion was unanimously passed.
- The board determined that the criteria for the award, is as follows;
  - o "The award will be awarded annually to the A11 A2 player who best demonstrates hard work, dedication, and a love of hockey throughout the season".
- We are honored to present the Second Annual Luc Huberdeau Memorial Award. This year's recipient is Zack Larose.

2022-2023 St.Boniface Minor Hockey Association Programs & Registration ● Total of 1000 players registered to the 2022-2023 Season across House League, Seals A hockey, the Stars/Saints program, AA Railcats and AAA Hockey. We had roughly 390 volunteers offer their time for coaching and managing.

o 68 Seals Teams, that participated in the Hockey Winnipeg League this season.

Page 2 of 5





# SBMHA Board Annual General Meeting Minutes

June 15, 2023

 Congratulations to U11 A2 Stars White, U13 A2B Seals White, U11 A3 Seals Red and U11 A3 Stars who all brought the Championship Banner to St.Boniface.

## **Player Development**

• Try Goalie Day was a big success. Every team in SMBHA that needed a dedicated goalie had one. • Goalie Development Session provided in conjunction with Byron Spriggs offered the opportunity for

goalie specific coaching.

- SBMHA provided a checking clinic for interested players.
- With the help of WinnPro, we were able to offer a Power Skating Series.
- With the success of these opportunities for players, the hope is to explore offering more clinics and camps for players this upcoming season.

### **SBMHA Initiatives**

- Launch of new SBMHA website using TeamSnap
- Seals day with Winnipeg Ice Skills Competition at Southdale CC
- Seals night at the Winnipeg Ice game
- U7/U9 March Jam Jamboree
- Coaches' appreciation night

## **Exiting Board Members**

- Carol Matthews, Registrar
- Calum Hughes, Secretary
- Kirk McCuspey, Vice President
- Thomas Joe, IP Coordinator
- Rob Wozny, Community Rep Champlain
- Michael Jarzyna, Member at Large

### **Appreciation & Recognition**

- The SBMHA Executive
- All SBMHA board Members
- All parent volunteers

### News/Changes from Hockey Winnipeg

- New age category distribution:
  - U11 will be 5 divisions (A1A, A1B, A2A, A2B, A3)
  - U13 will be 4 divisions (A1A, A1B, A2, A3) in addition to AA
  - U15/U18 tiered contact league (A1A, A1B0 and non contact league (A2A, A2B)
    - ¼ of players signed up for non contact league last season
- Hockey Winnipeg fees per team will increase with increased cost of City of Winnipeg ice

Page 3 of 5





# SBMHA Board Annual General Meeting Minutes

June 15, 2023

• SBMHA will be vigilant of cost increase for our families

Treasurer Report

- Slight increase in expenses this season due to increase cost of insurance and ice fees
- The SBMHA may need to consider a slight increase in fees in the coming seasons of increase would help replenish the jersey renewal fund
- Questions and things to consider in coming seasons:
  - Publicly posting financial statements?
  - Purchasing new goalie equipment for U9 program and offering set or two of equipment for "try goalie" at the U7 level

# Amendment of Constitution

Thanks to Kara Buchanan and Joyce Webinger for work on constitution amendment.
 Primary changes are to board positions titles.

Approval of Amended Constitution	
Motion:	Colin Malmstrom
Second:	Ryan Anderson
Vote:	Passed with over ⅔ approval

# Election of new members

Position Name Returning New Member

Vice President	Kirk McCuspey no Trevor Bodz
Registrar/HCR Administrator	Carol Matthews no vacant

### Page 4 of 5





# SBMHA Board Annual General Meeting Minutes

U13-U18 Direct Entry Program Chair	Ben Akoh <sub>yes</sub>
U9A-U11A Program Chair	Sylvain Foidart no Ryan Anderson
Website and Communications Director	N/A <sub>N/A</sub> Kara Buchanan
Female Hockey Director	Dan Sarahs no vacant
U7 Director	Matt Gagne no Tugba Tamblyn
Referee In Chief	Ryan Sutherland no Camille Forbes
Equipment Director	Sarah Bordier-Kaye yes
Member at Large	Ryan Galley yes
Member at Large	Michal Jarzyna no Colin Malmstrom

Next Meeting	
Date:	TBD
Time:	TBD

Adjournment	
Time:	8:48pm
Motion:	Lana Chymyshyn
Second:	Ben Akoh

Vote: Passed	
Signatures:	
President:	
Secretary:	